Day in the Life of a Compulsive Cleaner

I do NOT look this good, or smile like this when I clean!

The ignition coil in our gas oven went out today. Our friend Chris is a contractor and helps us with stuff around the house, but he said this was a project I could do easily on my own. However, after an hour of attempting to get the ignition coil out (why in the WORLD do the manufacturers place screws in completely inaccessible locations??), I resolved that I would just clean the oven instead and wait for Chris to come by tomorrow.

And, boy, did that oven need to be cleaned.

We’ve lived here for two years and I’ve never cleaned it (guilty). Ovens are just such a pain. And it has a self-clean feature, but we have dogs and little ones and that smell makes ME sick – can’t imagine what it would do to them. So I’ve kept putting it off. But now that I had taken everything out of it and saw up close just how bad it was, it could wait no longer.

So, for the last two hours, I’ve been scrubbing. And I don’t mean just the outside — I pulled the darn thing completely out from the wall, cleaned the backsplash, cleaned the sides of the oven, cleaned the inside of the air vent hood above, pulled everything off the burners and scrubbed until the surface was totally white again… Now I’m waiting two hours for the cleaner to penetrate the grime on the inside so I can…. well… scrub some more.

In the meantime, I noticed that the rest of the backsplash was pretty grimmy. Oh, and look at our white cabinet doors! That dishwasher is pretty gross too. Scrub, scrub, scrub…. SCRUB. I literally wore out my scrubbing sponge.

It’s one of those days when the fact that I have Compulsive Cleaning Disorder (CCD – a milder form of OCD, according to me – because I’m the expert), sort of really gets on my nerves. Because, the entire time I’m scrubbing away until the joints in my fingers ache, I’m thinking “man, I have so many other things to do.”

Like get on my blog and write about my CCD.

Sure do wish I had (i.e. could afford) a maid service. Sigh.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Geeser
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 18:11:10

    LOL. I sure could use you at my house!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

